Dodongseowon Confucian Academy [UNESCO World Heritage] (도동서원 [유네스코 세계문화유산])

We provide various information such as the website, contact information, usage information, and location (map) of Daegu Dalseong-gun, Dodongseowon Confucian Academy [UNESCO World Heritage] (도동서원 [유네스코 세계문화유산]) using public data of Korea Tourism Organization.

Dodongseowon Confucian Academy was first established by Confucian scholars in 1568 at the eastern base of Biseulsan Mountain, but was burnt down during the Japanese Invasion in 1592. In 1605, the school was reconstructed on its current site and was renamed Borodongseowon. In 1607, the name was changed to Dongdoseowon. "Dongdo" means that the teachings ("do") of Confucianism come from the East (dong in Korean). Dodongseowon is one of the 47 major Confucian academies that was not affected by Heungseon Daewongun's order to eliminate Confucian academies.



Homepage (Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese)

Address [Map]

726, Gujiseo-ro, Dalseong-gun, Daegu